Cult Like Behavior, Criminal Acts, Etc. In The Martial Arts!

stick-picture1.jpg

I think it is always important to remember that people are people.  Most people are good but there are always a small percentage of people who are simply not good people.  This goes across all borders, all activities, etc.  Whether it be in the public at large, the USA, UK, Japan, etc.  Or within a group like Martial Arts, Cycling, Boxing, Chess, Surf Boarding, etc.  Or within an age group of young, middle-aged or old!  People simply in the end are people and some will work hard to do good deeds, while others might be indifferent and yet a smaller percentage will commit criminal acts.  In the martial arts you as a practitioner need to understand that while the vast majority are really good people there are some nuts and criminally oriented people.  This was brought home to me at the age of sixteen when I attended a seminar and my wallet was stolen out of my dufflebag.  Unfortunately for me it was right after payday but the lesson was that it is my responsibility to make sure that my valuables are protected and that no matter where I am at there is a possibility of criminal behavior.  I am not saying be paranoid but take appropriate cautions.  Understand it is in your best interest and take the necessary steps to insure that you are going to be okay.  If you understand that people are people you will also never put someone on to high of a pedestal.  This is important particularly for martial artists.  Your instructor is a person and you should always remember that.  More than likely they are a really good person or even a great person but there are some that are not good.  There are some that are almost cult like or try to cultivate that cult like atmosphere.  I have been blessed with great instructors through the course of my training.  Every one of them was wonderful to me and helped me along this path.  However, they were all human and had a character flaw or two. (everyone does)  I have also been blessed with great students.  Part of that is because I have always been careful with who I have taken on as a student.  I have asked them questions and worked hard to get an understanding of them as a person about who they were and are.  As a martial practitioner we can control what we do and how we act.  With what we learn we need to be someone who promotes goodness and positive personal growth.  This is very important in my mind.  Yet we need to understand that everyone is also not on this path even those who also study the Martial Sciences!  Recently two Brazilian Jiujitsu practitioners allegedly raped a female Jiujitsu practitioner at a school over on the east coast.  While still going through the system if this is true it is despicable and they should get their just reward!  Stuff like this has happened before in the martial community and each and every time it must be condemned for the evil that it is and we as practitioners need to understand that there are people in this world that do evil things even within the martial community.  Because this happened in Jiujitsu the Gracie Brothers came out with a video clip explaining their response to this type of situation and training in the Martial Sciences.  It is a pretty good clip!

 

As a martial practitioner we owe it to ourselves and our community to help others along this path because it is a life changing practice!  It will change your life for the better and you can in turn pass that on to someone else and help them on their path!  That is what I try to do and hopefully you will too!

Brian R. VanCise

Note: This blog is opinion only and neither Instinctive Response Training LLC or Brian R. VanCise are responsible for any third party actions.

Visit us at: www.instinctiveresponsetraining.com

About Brian VanCise

Hi my name is Brian R. VanCise and my passion is the Martial Sciences. I have trained almost my entire life in the pursuit of martial excellence and I teach a world class curriculum in Las Vegas, Nevada. Contact us at: 702-326-3622
This entry was posted in martial arts, self defense, personal protection, instin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply